Setting up HP Proliant server headless?

Status
Not open for further replies.

StuMcBill

Dabbler
Hi,

I’ve got a HP proliant Gen 8 MicroServer arriving tomorrow which I would like to set up with FreeNAS to use as a Plex server (along with Sonarr and Sabnzbd) however, I have a few questions.

1. I don’t really have access to a monitor at the moment, but would like to run FreeNAS off a usb stick on the server. Is there anyway I can manipulate the BIOS to boot from USB without a monitor? If so, could someone list the number of keyboard presses to enable this? And if possible, enable freenas’s web interface so I can access it from my web browser from my laptop.

2. I’m going to put a 2tb SATA drive in there to begin with, but all my movies and tv shows are on an external USB hard drive, is there anyway I can mount the external drive the same way I would mount an internal drive?

3. Are there any online resources that will make my setup process easier?

I’m new to this so there maybe another few questions coming.

Thanks,
Stewart

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Tim1962

Patron
Hi from a recent newbie (so there maybe/will be better advice!) I don't think you can realistically **set up** FreeNAS headless, (set it up with a screen then remove the screen once up and configured.)

YEs you can boot from a USB, and the boot order is set in BIOS

The web interface is set automatically and IP address declared after setup (on the monitor) after that it is all web based config (or remote command line)

If I may suggest I would install FreeNAS and add the 2Tb drive and use it in a non critical fashion for a while before perhaps reinstalling once you have got the hang of things, I certainly would keep a copy of your media files on your USB drive as backup for some time in case it all goes pear shaped. FreeNAS itself won't go pearshape but if you are anything like me, you might!!!

Good luck

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler