First Intel build - Will it FreeNAS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcnut

Dabbler
A while back I decided I wanted to build a FreeNAS box for my small personal network. I have various files on multiple drives that I hotswap. That's really getting old.
I've never built an Intel system before, always built AMD. But I want to do this right with ECC memory. Also will set up with two parity drives.
I might want to add ownCloud later.
I've been buying 4TB drives as I can over the past several months (I'm now up to six drives) and need to start buying other system components.

Here's what 'm looking at
motherboard: Supermicro-X10SL7-F-O
cpu: Xeon 1220 V3 3.1
hard drives: WD 4TB (4 red, 2 blue so far, probably shouldn't use the blue)
boot drive: Crucial SSD 64GB (already have)
memory: Crucial 16GB (2x8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600 (later I can add another 16GB)
power supply: Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-650FX 650W
case: unknown (I want to have silent 120mm fans blowing across the drives)

opinions?

edit: added PSU

Last edited:

Inxsible

Guru
Should work !

For PSU -- Look at Seasonic or Corsair RMx series.
Case would depend on how many drives you eventually plan to have.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
2 blue so far, probably shouldn't use the blue
There is a utility to turn off the auto head parking. Search the forum for wdidle3 and I am sure you will find a link to download it and instructions to use it..

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

opinions?
Do you want hot-swap drive bays? Do you want rack mount? What is the target budget? I really like the 48bay 4U rack mount case I am using. Not too loud either.

rcnut

Dabbler
There is a utility to turn off the auto head parking. Search the forum for wdidle3 and I am sure you will find a link to download it and instructions to use it..