Brand new user with very slow SMB speeds

EyemMateo

Cadet
Hello. I am brand new to unix and truenas, but have tons of knowledge otherwise. I picked up a Dell R410 and installed Scale and started getting into the weeds with everything, more or less successfully. I have roughly 5tb to move from my windows PC I've been using for ages so it can be backed up. I first started with the obvious solution, which was to use an SMB share. I have found that for whatever reason, this is VERY slow. I tried running iperf with the help of a discord member, and got these results.
image.png
The 11ish mbps number is consistent with using file manager as well as FreeFileSync. This means it would take AGES to finish this upload. I am worried that this would make the upload vulnerable to some error over this time, and just would generally not be viable for speeds long term.
My computer and nas are both plugged into a Cisco2950

What is the most likely issue here? Seems like this speed is abnormally slow. How can I go about fixing it(without spending much money, I'm still in high school)? Is there another option I could try?
My next idea was to install my PC's drive and use the "import disk" function, but as this thread states, it has been removed.

Let me know any follow up questions or things to try, I am very eager to fix this issue!

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
It seems rather likely that your network connection is running at 100 Mb/s.
It's not clear what your setup is, but given that most of the Cisco 2950 series consists of Fast Ethernet switches, I would suspect the switch first and foremost.

EyemMateo

Cadet
Would plugging my PC straight into the nas work for smb?
What's the next best option for file transfer? I don't see pretty much any other options anywhere.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Would plugging my PC straight into the nas work for smb?