Very slow transfer speed Trunas scale 22.12.2 with SMB

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
You can't be using both NICs at the same time with the same IP.

You need to remove the IP from the first one, save (but don't test yet), then assign it to the other, save and test.
My ocurrent internal NIC ip is 192.168.1.29 how come when I add another Ip on the secod NIC it does not accept it? (1.39)?
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
Tested with the USB NIC:

Code:
------------------------------------------------------------
Client connecting to 192.168.1.29, TCP port 5201
TCP window size: 85.0 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  1] local 192.168.1.162 port 56852 connected with 192.168.1.29 port 5201
tcp write failed: Connection reset by peer
shutdown failed: Transport endpoint is not connected
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  1] 0.0000-0.7934 sec  33.3 MBytes   353 Mbits/sec
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
OK, well I'm a little stumped now... I guess we need to be looking at things in the middle now...

What switch are you using to connect the devices? are the cables all new and Cat5 or better?
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
You could also use 2 different clients (designating one of them as the server) with iperf.
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
OK, well I'm a little stumped now... I guess we need to be looking at things in the middle now...

What switch are you using to connect the devices? are the cables all new and Cat5 or better?
Cables are cat6 but oldish ones.
As for designating 2 different clients, you mean to use one client as server and another client as client?
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
As for designating 2 different clients, you mean to use one client as server and another client as client?
yes, exactly.

Ideally we will get something talking at 1Gbit for a full test, which could prove a siwtch port/cable combination is good.
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
yes, exactly.

Ideally we will get something talking at 1Gbit for a full test, which could prove a siwtch port/cable combination is good.
I removed the switch this time and connected the nas to the router directly via ethernet and tried from my main client:

Code:
Client connecting to 192.168.1.29, TCP port 5201
TCP window size: 85.0 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[  1] local 192.168.1.162 port 41132 connected with 192.168.1.29 port 5201
tcp write failed: Connection reset by peer
shutdown failed: Transport endpoint is not connected
[ ID] Interval       Transfer     Bandwidth
[  1] 0.0000-0.2924 sec  33.7 MBytes   966 Mbits/sec
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
Do you have another switch and or different cables... we need to cycle through different options until something works.

Possibly good news though for your Server's NIC. Maybe it will prove to be fine after we find the other problem.
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
Do you have another switch and or different cables... we need to cycle through different options until something works.

Possibly good news though for your Server's NIC. Maybe it will prove to be fine after we find the other problem.
I am not using any switch now (disconnected it).
You think it is a cable issue maybe?
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
You think it is a cable issue maybe?
It can be...

You can try different components/computers together.

What you're looking for is something more like this:
Code:
iperf3 -c 192.168.1.28 -bidir
Connecting to host 192.168.1.28, port 5201
[  5] local 192.168.2.27 port 52096 connected to 192.168.1.28 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr  Cwnd
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec   112 MBytes   944 Mbits/sec    0    362 KBytes       
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    362 KBytes       
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes       
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec   112 MBytes   939 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes       
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes       
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec   111 MBytes   933 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes       
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes       
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    397 KBytes       
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    419 KBytes       
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec   112 MBytes   943 Mbits/sec    0    471 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.04  sec  1.09 GBytes   930 Mbits/sec                  receiver


And in particular it should not contain the words:
Code:
tcp write failed: Connection reset by peer
shutdown failed: Transport endpoint is not connected
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
It can be...

You can try different components/computers together.

What you're looking for is something more like this:
Code:
iperf3 -c 192.168.1.28 -bidir
Connecting to host 192.168.1.28, port 5201
[  5] local 192.168.2.27 port 52096 connected to 192.168.1.28 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr  Cwnd
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec   112 MBytes   944 Mbits/sec    0    362 KBytes      
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    362 KBytes      
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes      
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec   112 MBytes   939 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes      
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes      
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec   111 MBytes   933 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes      
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    380 KBytes      
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    397 KBytes      
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    419 KBytes      
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec   112 MBytes   943 Mbits/sec    0    471 KBytes      
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.04  sec  1.09 GBytes   930 Mbits/sec                  receiver


And in particular it should not contain the words:
Code:
tcp write failed: Connection reset by peer
shutdown failed: Transport endpoint is not connected
Tried another cable and still getting the slow speed and also:
Code:
tcp write failed: Connection reset by peer
shutdown failed: Transport endpoint is not connected
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
Could it be from the router itself?
Exactly how are you connecting things... do you mean you're using the ethernet ports on your Home Internet Router (the LAN switch part of it)? and before, you had an additional switch connected, which you've eliminated?

It might help to have some kind of diagram if you can manage that.
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
Exactly how are you connecting things... do you mean you're using the ethernet ports on your Home Internet Router (the LAN switch part of it)? and before, you had an additional switch connected, which you've eliminated?

It might help to have some kind of diagram if you can manage that.
Well my setup is extremely simple:

A FIber optics box connected to the main router that is using a custom FW (Fresh tomato) which has 4 Gigabit Ethernet ports: 1 is used for my other room Linux machine, 1 for my living room Linux machine, 1 for my small hosting server and last one for Trunas. So now I do not use any Switch just to make things simple for our diagnostics.
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
So now I do not use any Switch just to make things simple for our diagnostics.
Meaning back-to-back cables between the different computers?

How are you assigning IP addresses?
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
Meaning back-to-back cables between the different computers?

How are you assigning IP addresses?
Yes, regular Cat6 ethernet from router to the devices without anything else.
These are my router's Network settings:

1686473278257.png
 
Last edited:

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
The 4 LAN ports on your "router" are effectively a LAN switch.

You have already shown so far that at least two of the ports on it are potentially involved in being no good...

We need to work through the variables to eliminate the possible sources of the drops, so we might also consider putting two devices on your additional switch to test that instead.

Also remember that we're testing cables at the same time here, so pay attention to which ones are used in each test.
 

saebaryo

Dabbler
Joined
Jun 2, 2023
Messages
45
The 4 LAN ports on your "router" are effectively a LAN switch.

You have already shown so far that at least two of the ports on it are potentially involved in being no good...

We need to work through the variables to eliminate the possible sources of the drops, so we might also consider putting two devices on your additional switch to test that instead.

Also remember that we're testing cables at the same time here, so pay attention to which ones are used in each test.
Wondering now how can the 2 ports no good while I can get gigabit speed on them when speedtesting or downloading?
 
Top