SMB Slow Read Speeds

sazrocks

Cadet
Hi, new here so sorry if I'm in the wrong section.

I have a fresh install of TrueNAS-SCALE-21.08-BETA.2, and I'm having some trouble with read speeds over SMB. I have a 1Gbps network, and I am able to write large files (linux ISOs) in the realm of 80-100MB/s, which is acceptable. However, when I attempt to read those files back to any of various windows clients that I have, I get stuck at 8-10MB/s speeds, which is extremely slow. I ran some DD speed tests locally on the server and the array gets about 250MB/s when reading from that file. I'm a noob to TrueNAS so any suggestions as to where I am going wrong or what I can do to fix this would be appreciated.

Thanks.

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
1st you have to explain everything.. otherwise, people can't see what the mistake was.
What protocol are you using?
What is your pool layout?
How did you test the performance? (what client and software)
What is the hardware?

BTW, dd is a terrible way to test performance over a network. It has its own bottleneck.

sazrocks

Cadet
1st you have to explain everything.. otherwise, people can't see what the mistake was.
Sorry about that, I could have been more descriptive.
What protocol are you using?
Sorry, not entirely sure what you mean by this. I'm using SMB over a 1Gbps twisted pair network with Windows 10 clients.
What is your pool layout?
I'm a bit new to this, so hopefully I get this right:
Single vdev, 4 1 TB 10k SAS disks, RAIDZ1
How did you test the performance? (what client and software)
Several ways:
  1. To verify the network, I ran an iperf3 server on trueNAS using the shell. I then ran iperf3 client on my windows 10 client and tested against the trueNAS server. I was able to hit ~950Mbps each direction.