Slow Transfer Speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexNAS

Dabbler
Hi there

I am experiencing slow read/write speeds to and from my NAS. I am getting max speeds of 30 mb/s of both small and large files.

I have a Dell Power Edge
-Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2407 v2 @ 2.40GHz
-32GB ECC memmor
- 6 x 8TB Seagate Enterprise HDDs (Raid6)

I have switched ethernet cables and tested all cables. All check out fine.

I'm a bit of a noob and a bit stumped. Attached is my debug report.

Please help!

Thank you

Alex

Attachments

• debug-AlexNAS-20160619202111.tgz
    387.5 KB · Views: 240

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
You're using Seagate Archive HDDs with atime enabled. This is known to cause performance problems due to the way SMR works. Even after you turn atime off, expect relatively poor write performance with those drives.

Your pool is over 80% full and 35% fragmented, which may also lead to performance problems. You might also be short of RAM for your pool size, depending on how it's used.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
What disk controller are you using?

AlexNAS

Dabbler
Hi guys,

Thank you for the replies.

So I've done some more troubleshooting on the advice a friend of mine gave who set the NAS up.

My PC has a realtek NIC family controller. And my Dell Laptop uses and INTEL NIC.

The Dell gets 100+mb/s read speed (havent tested write speed its not so important, the server is purely a plex server and when people want media i hate having to sit around while the copy tortoises along)

Is there anything else it could be that is causing my PC to copy so slow? Beside being the Realtec NIC?

AlexNAS

Dabbler
I have also turned off atime, also for my jails (plex) will this cause issues for plex?

russnas

Contributor
See links, esp the freenas thread

http://www.storagereview.com/seagate_archive_hdd_review_8tb

https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/seagate-8tb-archive-drive-in-freenas.27740/