X9SRI-F Problems setting bios ipmi ip and logging in

serverguy

Dabbler
I know there must be a thousand threads on the x9sri about using ipmi and setting fan speed.
I am a complete newb on servers and their operation.
For some reason I cannot get into the ip address setting function in the bios. ver 3.3
The addresses are set to static. But no matter what I do I can't change them. Set it to yes and reboot does nothing.
I have tried a remote computer attached by cat 5 cable to the dedicated ipmi cat5 port.
Can't set the addresses so I tried pinging the currently set addresses from the remote computer. Not found.
Oh yeah and there is the issue of fans running at 100% speed. No settings in bios for that. The main reason for trying ipmi.
This is a brand new motherboard. All the jumpers are set in the default positions.
The mother board boots and seems to run fine. I've tried win10, linux desktop, ubuntu server. Everything boots and runs perfectly.
It would be nice to reduce the fan speed and be able to access remotely.
Yes the ipmi heartbeat led is flashing.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
If the addresses are set to static, it should be telling you what the current static address is. Set up a PC on that network and access it via the IPMI port. Or, install FreeNAS or Linux on the server, and use ipmitool to configure the IPMI address that way.

serverguy

Dabbler

jgreco is there a certain protocol that I should follow. From another pc attached by cat5 cable straight to the IPMI port I typed in the static address through the browser. Nothing found. Do I need //address or http//address ?!?!?! I literally don't know what I'm doing here. I will try setting up a computer on linux and use the IPMITOOL. Thanks for the reply​

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity