SOLVED Tera Copy + Truenas

TYz

Cadet
First of all I am very new to all this, and for the most part I have just battled my way through reading endless posts and a bunch of trial and error to get the results I want.

But i am totally stumped now and I don't even have the faintest idea on what to google...

I have just started having some issues when I transfer data from my nas back onto my nas using teracopy. It has previously been working, but I have upgraded my hardware and now I am having the following issues.

If i transfer data toa folder on my pc and then back on to the nas, I have no issues. The files will copy back and forth fine with teracopy.

But if I copy from one folder on the nas to another fodler on the nas it locks up and I need to reboot the nas. I havent been able to find any error codes or the like, the webui just stops responding and the jails all stop functioning.

If I uninstall teracopy and use the standard windows transfer I am able to transfer from one folder on the nas to another.

I realise for any real help I will need to provide more information, but like i said before I have no clue as to what is going on and what information might be helpful.

Thanks for any help you can provide

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
So, TeraCopy is a third party copy tool and I don't know what it's doing in the background, maybe it's multi-threading the copy operations.

The "problem" I can see is that you're probably using a single-threaded process (smbd) on the server to do 2 jobs (copy out and copy back... or even many copy commands at the same time in both directions with TeraCopy).

If you want to copy files within the server, use another tool at the shell like mc, rsync or just cp.

TYz

Cadet
Thanks for the quick reply.

My server set up consists of dual xeon e5 2620 on a sketchy Ali express mobo. Seems to be running fine apart from.this issue for the past 48 hours... I'm sure I will find a few of these limitations with my mobo choice :)