Question that may seem ridiculous

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarge101st

Cadet
Okay. I don't feel that I'm a noob here but I'm completely at a loss here. I've installed FreeNAS on a portable USB flash drive. I've set it up and already got things going as a data server. Now I want to reboot my machine and go back into windows 7 but I can't. If I remove all external devices and report I get the "This is a FreeNAS datadisk and cannot boot system. system halted," error. I've even gone into the BIOS and reordered the boot priority for the internal HDD first. Nothing works. I even tried running the laptops original system recovery disks on the external cd drive in hopes that would get things going. How do I get the machine to boot into Windows 7 again?

travalon

Explorer
im a noob too. as i understand it when you add discs to a volume, freenas ERASES THEM... If you added your boot disk to the volume it may be m-t. if so reinstall windoze.

interpeix

Contributor
I'm agree with @travalon. You could make a simple test, start with W7 cd or any other rescue cd and try to mount your boot disk. If you can, try to rescue your W7 installation. For future tests, I recomend you, use a Virtual Machine. Good luck.

Stephens

Patron
I hope I'm reading you wrong but it sounds like you overwrote your Windows boot hard drive when you created a pool in FreeNAS.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I think that's exactly what he did unfortunately...

Sarge101st

Cadet