Netork Domain Configuration advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zaaphod

Contributor
I am new to FreeNAS and would like some networking advice to get the most out of my system. I am running FreeNAS on a SuperMicro A1SA7-2750F Motherboard with 32GB of ECC RAM installed.

I have always had trouble with my network, and I'm thinking FreeNAS could help me solve my problems. it has always been a workgroup configuration where one Windows 7 Professional computer stored the majority of the files, but with other shares as well. My goal with FreeNAS is to get away from this completely and make it a true Server / Client arrangement, with FreeNAS storing all datafiles for all computers. I do not even want it to be possible to save files in my documents or my pictures on client computers.

For Client Computers I have the following:

4 Windows 10 Tablet PCs

2 Windows 10 Desktop PCs

1 windows 8.1 Laptop

1 Windows 7 Professional - I need to keep this one windows 7 because I need to run a W98 VM with Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 and it won't run on 8 or higher, and I can't get it to work on virtualbox correctly

1 Windows 7 Home Premium Laptop

4 Windows XP - Small single application work stations with no need to upgrade

3 Windows XP VMs - used to run older software no longer available

1 Windows 98 Virtual PC VM (this is the one above mentioned w98 VM)

5 Windows 3.11 - don't laugh, there is a reason... these 5 computers run CNC cutting equipment that must communicate with special motion controller cards that are ONLY available as ISA cards... it would cost THOUSTANDS to upgrade these, these computer can network with the W98 VM just fine, and the win XP through win 10 computers can also network with W98

1 Ubuntu Desktop PC

3 Ubuntu VMs

7 Android devices - phones tablets.. etc, one of which is a WiFi Tablet with root access and networked the others I would like to access network shares via apps like AndSMB