"Import Volumes"

Status
Not open for further replies.

lyle

Contributor
Total Newbie here on my knees begging for help! :)

I have had this baby going for more than a year, fantastic! Lately it's been crashing and it finally stopped working altogether. I checked on the admin site and both drives (2TB & 1TB) were showing as "degraded" (whatever the heck that means!).

So I tore everything apart, pulled the 1TB (less critical drive), and plugged the 2TB (CRITICAL drive) into a different SATA port. I can see the drive come up on the splash screen, it shows up in the BIOS, but on the FREENAS 8 admin screen it is not showing as installed. I can see the drive, but it's like FREENAS is seeing it for the first time.

I tried Auto Import, but that didn't work. Import Volume looks doable and I can definitely see the drive.

Finally my question: if I "import volumes" this drive, will I lose all my CRITICAL data?

All help is greatly appreciated.

PS-did I mention I am a Newbie? Please talk to me like I'm a seven year old! :)

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Post the output of "zpool import", "gpart status", and "zpool status".

Please put it in code so that the formatting is maintained. The formatting of the text matters. :P

lyle

Contributor
How do I do this? Just type those commands on the command line? I will put this together tonite and post tonight.

lyle

Contributor
Hi Cyberjock. Couldn't figure out how to output the results, so I have this "screenprint". I hope it helps!

-Lyle

20130730_211025.jpg

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Why wouldnt you just enable ssh and do it from a workstation?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

lyle

Contributor
Hi Pirate. Sorry you lost me there. Even if I could figure out how to enable ssh, wouldn't I still need to activate the hard disk (volume) in Freenas before I could transfer anything? Trying to figure out to bring the disk back online without losing data.

cyberjock

Inactive Account