SOLVED Cannot access shared drives or ping server hostname - help!

SamCam

Dabbler
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can help me out. I'm new to FreeNAS and whilst being a newbie to networking I'm no idiot. I'm hoping a pointer here will help me out.
So I set up an old Dell optiplex with a 1TB HDD and FreeNAS. Initially really as a plex player and storage source for our smart TV but then I've started to look at using it to backup photos, videos etc from my Android device removing the need for Google backups.

I have looked for a couple of days around google and the forum and I'm stuck.

System Specs:
FreeNAS-11.2-U3
Dell Optiplex 780
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 cores)
8GB RAM
1TB Toshiba HDD
(anything else needed let me know)

So I installed FreeNAS without too much issue and installed the plex plugin, got that working, then installed the NextCloud plugin. At this point I figured I needed to move from DHCP to static IP allowing me to access the network from outside of the home.

I ran into trouble trying to change the plugins jail access from DHCP to static IP. When I removed the autoconfigure for IPv4 and set a static IP. The plugins confirmed the connection but I couldn't access the mangement console for either plugin through the GUI. I then tried to move back to DHCP connection. It was then when I was trying to find the new IP address I discovered that I couldn't ping the server using the hostname. The IP address responds when pinged, but it will not respond when the hostname is pinged. I also lost access to the shared drive I has setup with my windows laptop so I now can't move files to the server.