Access FreeNAS Jail From outside local network not working

SamMachine

Cadet
Hi everyone, as a disclaimer, I am a newbie with FreeNAS and using Jails so don't hate too much.

My question is that I want to access my website which I have running inside a jail on my freenas machine. It is running build 11.0-U2 and the jail has apache24 installed. I can access it fine using the local IP on my network but when I type the public IP of the jail into my browser, it says, "This site can't be reached" 24.16.xxx.xxx took too long to respond.

Currently, I am forwarding port 80 on my router to get to my localhost but still no luck.

Sorry if It seems dumb and the answer is really simple but I have been looking how to fix it for a while but nothing has helped.

kdragon75

Wizard
Also NAT reflection would be needed. At least I think that's what it called.

SamMachine

Cadet
so here is an update, for some reason, the public IP I was using was the wrong one. I used a command to print the public IP, It was supposed to print out its public IP. I assumed it was right but it was the wrong command.

what is the best command to get the public IP in freenas?

Heracles

Wizard
Hi Sam,

From a browser, you can go on a web site like myipaddress.com and it will show you the IP address you are using when surfing. You can also ask Google by doing a search about "what is my ip address".

Other options would be to use dynamic DNS. A dynamic DNS will monitor the external IP address and will update a DNS record for you. That way, you can refer to your connection using that DNS name instead of an IP address.

Hope this will give you some ideas,

SamMachine

Cadet
Hi Sam,

From a browser, you can go on a web site like myipaddress.com and it will show you the IP address you are using when surfing. You can also ask Google by doing a search about "what is my IP address".