Write speed = 96MB/second Read speed = 63MB/second

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to FreeNAS but I did a lot of homework before ordering any parts so here is my parts list then the description of my write speed issue and hopefully where I should look to make improvements.

1. (SuperMicro) SSG-6047R-E1R24L SuperServer 4U (No RAID card this is a JBOD only)
2. 2ea.Intel Xeon Quad-Core E5-2609V2 2.5GHz Ivy Bridge-E
3. 8ea. 16GB DDR3-1600 1.35V 2Rx4 LP ECC REG
4. AOC-SGP-i4 (4 Port NIC 1GB) in addition to the 4 built in NICs
5. Twenty one Seagate Constellation ES.3 (4TB SAS) 5 year warranty
6. Three 120GB SSD for Cache & logs mounted with Newer Tech AdaptaDrive in 3 adjacent main drive bays
7. Two 1TB WD Red in optional rear facing 2 drive SATA mount (This is for the FreeNAS OS)

I am in testing phase using just eight 4TB SAS drives and the 3 SSDs for my pools. I have a RAIDZ2 shared out as an iSCSI share. I have a ESXi 5.5 VM host running on an SSD with GB NIC and a 2008R2 server located on a FreeNAS iSCSI share. Since I am in testing there is nothing else connected to FreeNAS or ESXi host.

I am in a segregated part of my network so nearly no traffic. I have an Gb 24 port HP Pro Curve PoE swith with
  1. Gb line to my network
  2. Gb line to VM host
  3. Gb line to FreeNAS
  4. Gb line to either my PC or Mac.
When I send files from my Windows 7 PC or My MacBook Pro running Mac OS 10.10 to the FreeNAS server I get 96MB/second. My test files are 4,260MB or 4.16GB.

When I send the same files back to the FreeNAS server v. 9.3 I am getting 63MB/second speeds.
My PC has spinning HD at 7,200RPM and my MacBook has a 6G SSD and yet the times are consistently within 1 second of the same?

Any ideas where to look to improve the write speeds would be greatly appreciated & thanks to all.....:)

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Your complaining about read speed correct? You last statement didn't make sense because you described a write event twice.