VM bhyve and Ubuntu 18.04

Rickinfl

Contributor
Hi
I seen you can't install Ubuntu 18.04 on bhyve vm yet because of the kernel. I saw freebsd fixed this. Does anyone know how long before freenas applies the patch? Or is it something we can do? Looks to be just a file? from what I see on freebsd bug forum I'm no programmer.

I figured freenas would get this out pretty quick due to people upgrading kernels. I need to build several Ubuntu servers and what to use 18.04. Just need to figure out how long I have to delay installing these vms.

Thanks
Rick

KrisBee

Wizard

KrisBee

Wizard
@dlavigne Thanks for the notice ... will give it a whirl in 24hrs.

Rickinfl

Contributor
Thanks! I knew FreeNAS programmers would be on top of it!

KrisBee

Wizard
The developer merged that in earlier today: https://redmine.ixsystems.com/issues/26708. If someone could test a nightly (after today) and leave a comment on that report whether or not it works, that would be great :)

@dlavigne A quick test using the latest ubuntu 18 server iso with the new subuquity installer gives a working VM using the current nightly FreeNAS-11.2-MASTER-201805050407 with the updated bhyve firmware packages:

Code:
[chris@freenas ~]$ pkg info | grep uefi
uefi-edk2-bhyve-0.1,1		  UEFI-EDK2 firmware for bhyve
uefi-edk2-bhyve-csm-0.1,1	  UEFI-EDK2 firmware for bhyve with CSM
[chris@freenas ~]$ 

sk3

Cadet
Might be a stupid question but, is the current nightly Stable enough? I would like to upgrade my VMs to ubuntu 18.04 and make some new VMs based on that.

Rickinfl

Contributor
But I don't want to run nightly builds. When will this be pushed out as an update? They should really push this ASAP at least this patch a lot of us are stuck until they do.

sk3

Cadet
I'm afraid the answer is "when it's ready" unfortunately.