updating 9.3 alpha

Status
Not open for further replies.

madman

Cadet
Hi i'm new to freenas and have been advised to ask this question in this list,
I've been working with the freenas 9.3 version and had no problems updating the nightly verson until recently, So i went back to 9.3 alpha and tried to update to todays update 9.3 M4 20141022. However it goes through the update procedure and during the reboot after update, it begins to loop, my question is can i update from the alpha version straight to the most current version or do i have to load all the updates in sequence one at a time?
many thanks in advance

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Gonna get someone with that answer to respond. Please standby.

S

Suraj Ravichandran

Sorry that your having troubles.

Could you post some more details as to where it its that your machine is looping, how were you updating (iso update, GUI_UPDATE or the updater using trains).

Also if your machine is looping at boot and you cannot take screenshots then please take a pic of it so that we can atleast see where is it looping and what instruction did it execute last and so on.

madman

Cadet
Hi many thanks for getting back, as I say I'm very new to freenas so please bare with me,
I'm updating through the GUI on 9.3 alpha, I down load the .txz file to one of my other machines then go to the GUI and click the firmware update button, select the device memory for short term storage and then select the .txz file from downloads.
paste in the sha key. It unpacks the firmware, after approximately 15 minutes it reboots, during this it reaches a point where the last line is a message" usbus1: Controller shutdown complete " and loops back to the beginning of the boot process and continues to do this.
When I then try to boot back to the original 9.3 os I can't get the os to accept F2, it keeps coming back with "no F2" . I can see F1, F2 and F5 on the usb drive
Also for some reason I've never been successful with the iso update process either.