Transmission permission denied error

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamatesla

Cadet
Hey guys, I know this is a common problem but I'm really stuck here. I've read over a dozen other posts about this issue and am still having trouble figuring it out. I'm also new to FreeNAS so I'm sure that's not helping.

So I have a simple FreeNAS setup - I have one dataset I created and want this dataset to be public to everyone on my network for now, so I set Owner(user) to nobody and Owner(group) to nogroup.

I created a SMB share using the aforementioned dataset and this works just fine across my network. All my computers can read and write to the folders I've created inside the SMB share.

Now, I want Transmission plugin to save downloaded torrents into a "Torrent" folder I created in this dataset/smb share. I installed the Transmission plugin and it works just fine at the web interface. I attached storage to it by setting Source:/mnt/yourmom/mainshare/Transmission (this is the directory I made in my dataset where I want torrents to end up) I set Destination: /media (download location inside the Jail).

I'm getting the typical "Permission Denied (/media/torrentitriedtodownload)" error message in the Transmission interface. I honestly can't figure out what user or groups I need to add to get this to work. I tried SSHing into the Jail and setting the /media folder to 777 but apparently that is no longer allowed. I also tried to ad a plethora of random users and groups with "921" for transmission with no luck.

Maybe it's because I'm new to FreeNAS, but I'm a bit amazed about how difficult this has been. I can't even figure out where the problem lies. Is the permission inside the Jail - the /media folder - the one with permissions set too strict currently? Or is my dataset configured with permissions that are too strict? There must be a simple solution to this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Allan Wilmath

Explorer