Plex media server, Freenas,ATTUVerse 2wire 3801HGV modem

Status
Not open for further replies.

MacAspirer

Dabbler
Hello every one,

I am new to freenas and plextv. I heard about this and found to be very exciting to watch the content I have at home via internet through plextv.

I have built a custom built freenas, and have media on the freenas, installed plextv plugin to watch the content.

I was able to watch the content on the local network by iphone, ipad and other laptop.

I wasn't able to watch the content remotely using plexmedia server.

I have internet connect thru ATT, and I have ATT uverse, with that I got bundled ATTU verse 2wire 3801 hgv modem.

I tried port forwarding on Att uverse modem port 32400 it did not work.

I am wondering any one in this group can guide me to get watch plexmedia server on the freenas machine with att uverse modem remotely.

I just bought a AirPort Extreme 2012 model as well.

This will be very helpful for me.

Thanks

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
just as a double check, you port forwarded TCP to the plex jail IP?

MacAspirer

Dabbler
Yes. When I was doing that there were two IP addresses. One was for freenas and other one was for specifically the plex media plugin, I tried with putting plex media plugin jail through the port. It did not work. It worked on just my Mac remote access, but not on freenas.
My question has anybody did do freenas plex media server with freenas.

I appreciate this. Thank you

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
I have lots of people connecting to my FreeNAS library outside of my network.

Please explain your port forward that you tried to do. It sounds like you arent doing something correctly. Also, when you log into the web gui for your server, in the settings, you can change the default port to whatever port you desire. It doesn't HAVE to be 32400. In that same screen, it will tell you if your port forward is working or not.

j_r0dd

Contributor