Plex and Tranmission Setup without Anonymous Access

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericv

Explorer
Hello everyone. I am new to FreeNAS. I have read a bunch of threads on this topic here and else where and still can't seem to solve my problem. I appreciate the help. My question is is there a way to get plugins like Plex and Transmission to work without giving anonymous access?

I have a volume called "Storage". On that volume there is a dataset called "Media".

/mnt/Storage/Media

I have my movies in a folder called "Movies".

/mnt/Storage/Media/Movies

I have another volume called "Apps". On that volume there is a dataset called "jails".

/mnt/Apps/jails

This is where I have jails configured to live.

I have created storage for the plex plugin mapping

/mnt/Storage/Media/Movies

to

/media (with the option to create the folder on)

When I do an "ls -lrt" on the Movies (mnt/Storage/Media/Movies) folder, each file has the following permissions.

-rwxrwxr-x

When I do an "ls -lrt" o the Media folder (/mnt/Storage/Media) I show the following permissions for the "Movies" folder:

drwxrwxr-x

When I go into Plex to add a Movies library, it shows nothing in the /media folder.

This works fine and Plex can see my data. That said, I'd rather not give anonymous access to my Movies. Is there also a way to get this working without doing anonymous access?

ericv

Explorer
So I've been paying a bit more attention to detail and found this page.

http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas_jails.html#add-storage

Under section 13.2.1.2 I'd like to do this...

"If multiple applications or jails are to have access to the same data, you will need to create a separate group and add each needed user account to that group."

I've done this, but still cannot access the content within plex, however if I assign the user/group in FreeNAS to plex it works fine. This won't work for me as I need both plex and transmission to access this data.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty