None of my plugins will start

Status
Not open for further replies.

MortenSJ

Explorer
Hi

I've been messing around trying to get all my plugins in one jail. I couldn't get that to work, so i decided to install them again, in their own jail.

I did that, and it all went well. They were running fine, but then i rebooted my server, and now none of them will start. I have no idea where to start, but it's getting a little frustrating :)

Hope some one can point me in the right direction. I'm fairly new to FreeNAS.

Best, Morten

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
How did you install all your plugins in one jail?

I run a bunch of things in one jail, but I installed them all from pkg or portsnap. Did you make sure they are enabled in /etc/rc.conf?

MortenSJ

Explorer

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
you make a jail.

you ssh into freenas, and jexec <jail-id> tcsh

pkg install <nameofsoftware>

its just the normal FreeBSD way....

MortenSJ

Explorer
Okay, i made a jail called plugins, and added the storage.

I SSH'ed into my NAS, but i'm not sure what the jexec <jail-id> tcsh command is doing? Where do i find my jail id?

And the pkg install. Where do i find the pkg's I'm guessing it's not the same as pbi's?

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
wait, how did you ever configure a plugin jail if you don't know how to find the id and ssh into it?

'jls' will list your running jails and their ids

you dont go and download pkgs, inside the jail you just run the command for the pkg you want
'pkg install nano' will get you nano editor

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek