SOLVED Newbie FreeNAS 11 : Guest+user write setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lazarus

Dabbler
hello,
I am new to FreeNAS and trying to get full access to Guest+users on a share. I found this in the documentation -

Note
if you create a guest share as well a share that requires authentication, AFP will only map users who login as guest to the guest share. This means that if a user logs in to the share that requires authentication, the permissions on the guest share may prevent that user from writing to the guest share. The only way to allow both guest and authenticated users to write to a guest share is to set the permissions on the guest share to 777 or to add the authenticated users to a guest group and set the permissions to 77x.

I also found several forum posts that said to get guest access to work you needed to change the storage locations owner to nobody so I have set up the following:

Apply Owner (user): Checked
Owner (user): nobody
Apply Owner (group): checked
Owner (group): guest
Apply Mode: Checked
Mode: Greyed out: BUt owner& group have all 3 checked , other has read execute checked
Permission Type: windows
Set permission recursively: unchecked

Under "Sharing" I added a windows (SMB) share with both "apply default permissions" and "allow guest access" checked

For my user account I added the "guest" group as an auxiliary group.

But I can not write to the location using the user account.
Thank you for any help and guidance you can provide. I am pretty sure its some newbie mistake or I am misreading something but I have not been able to figure out what.

Last edited by a moderator:

zoomzoom

Guru
Are you trying to configure an AFP [Apple] share or a SMB [Samba - Windows] share? I believe you're trying to configure an SMB share, but need to confirm.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
hello,
I am new to freenas and trying to get full access to Guest+users on a share. I found this in the documentation -

Note