Permission messed up (Unix/Windows) and CIFS share

Status
Not open for further replies.

iBobbe

Cadet
Hi everyone,
after many hours of frustrating attempts I decided to ask some help.
Sorry in advance, I'm a novice and my english is pretty bad.

Info:
FreeNAS 9.3
LAN with Windows and Mac machines

How it should be:
I want a dataset, named "Storage", accessible by everyone on the LAN, where I store generic data/media files.
It should be accessible by a guest account without password, since that kind of data aren't sensitive and anyone who have access to the LAN should see/write into that dataset.
Inside "Storage" I want a dataset, named "Work", accessible by account&password and possibly hidden to guest accounts.

I made somthing similar by:
  • Creating "Storage" dataset and "Work" dataset inside "Storage"
  • Creating "guest" user, guest group, directory home /mnt/Storage, disabled password
  • Creating "moderator" user, "moderator" group (created by me), directory home /mnt/Storage/Work
  • Setting "Storage" permission: owner "root", group "guest", 775 permission
  • Setting "Work" permission: owner "moderator", group "moderator", owner RWE permission only
  • Enabling CIFS service: account guest "guest", allow empty password
  • Creating CIFS share: enable guest access and an auxiliary parameter that hide Work folder to those who can't access that (I don't remember it)
That was done under FreeNAS 9.1, everything worked except that I can't access Work folder by Windows machine. Not a big trouble, I accessed Work folder by Mac machines.

Recently I updated to FreeNAS 9.3 and trying to solve jails permission problem I messed up something.
Now "Work" is accessible by guest users too. In fact, if I open "Work" dataset permission by GUI, I see 775 permission. If I try to change to RWE owner only, it doesn't change anything, leaving 775.