New clean FreeNAS Installation Intermittently Booting

Status
Not open for further replies.

rob3007

Cadet
Hi All,

I am really hoping someone might be able to help me here, I am brand new to FreeNAS (and I dont know much about Linux either!) I normally stick with Windows, but I really want to try and use this incredible tool and I am having problems already!

I should also mention that I am also new to posting in forums as well, whenever I have needed information before I have always found someone elses post to fix my problem, but I have searched for 2 days without finding any answers that have helped me... Please be patient with me!

OK, here is my problem. I recently had a failed SSD that was running a Windows 10 PC that I stored all my data on, and as the PC was only ever used for data storage anyway, I thought that having a go at using FreeNAS would be a good opportunity to learn something new. I bought a brand new SanDisk Ultra Fit USB 3.0 32GB Flash Drive, downloaded the latest stable version of FreeNAS (file name: FreeNAS-9.10-RELEASE.ISO) and followed the instructions to install it.

All went well with the installation, and the PC soon rebooted and this is where the problem started. on first boot it got so far and then stopped, last message was

Code:
Stopped at kdb_enter+0x3e: movq  $0,kdb_why"

I found several posts about this type of error, but nothing that seemed to link with a brand new install, so I hit the reset button, the computer restarted and this time it worked and booted fine. As I have no data drives installed yet I shut the PC down and started moving data off my drives.

Later on I booted up to a similar message, this time it happened every time I rebooted, after about 10 attempts it finally booted, and then it booted fine the next couple of times, before it failed to boot again.