Need advice on different sized drives

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I'm new to FreeNAS, but I'd like to set up a server with it in my home with what I have and can get cheap/free, so I'm looking for some advice on whether this is possible and/or advised.

What I have currently is 5 drives:
2x 1TB
2x 2TB
1x 3TB

I've looked around a lot and I think I've come to understand what I can and can't do, but I wanted to ask anyway to make sure. I want to combine these drives in the way that protects my data but gives me the largest possible usable capacity. My initial thought was to somehow combine each 1TB drive with a 2TB in a RAID 0 format, and then do a RAID-Z across 3x3TB (6TB usable capacity). Another thought in the same thread was to combine the 1TB drives together, and RAID-Z across all 4 "drives", which would waste 1TB on the 3TB drive, but again give me 6TB usable capacity. From my reading it does not seem that this is possible, but if it is, I would like to hear about how to do it.

My other idea that seemed doable, but that it seems to me is inadvisable, would be to create two separate vdevs: the 2TB drives and the 3TB drive in a RAID-Z, and then mirror the 1TB drives on each other, giving me a total of 5TB usable capacity (not as good, but acceptable).

Any thoughts?

Caesar

Contributor
I don' t think you can raid0 a 1TB with a 2TB and then have act as a 3TB drive for 3x3TB Raid-Z. I think your best bet would be to do the two vdevs with vdev1 = [2x2TB + 1x3TB] RAID-Z and vdev2 = 2x1TB Mirrored. Then you can expand vdev1 with 3x3TB and take those 2x2TB and expand vdev2. That should give you around 8TB whenever you can afford getting two more 3TB drives.

I assume you are aware that the docs say that you should not mix raid types in the same pool?