Raid with variable sized hdd's

MichielG

Cadet
Hi,

I've been playing around with NASes for a couple of years now. First a synology one for 5years, then went to custom hardware with xpenlogy for 2 years but now thinking about switching to truenas because of lacking stability of xpenlogy and like to do some tinkering. Because synology has something what they call hybrid raid, I now have drives of different sizes. 2x 4tb, 2x 2tb, 1x 1tb. In my current setup I have 10 tb of usable space with data protection for 1 drive.

Is there a configuration (without buying extra) that would give me similar usable space and data protection?
Thanks in advance

Arwen

MVP
No.

A ZFS pool is made up of vDevs. Each vDev, (virtual device), contains the redundancy. With the disks you have, you can have a Mirrored pool like so;

2 x 4TB in a Mirrored vDev
2 x 2TB in a Mirrored vDev

That would only get you 6TB raw, with 4.8TB usable to keep pool at or below 80% used.

The single 1TB is not useful in this setup.

Every NAS / RAID scheme has it's strengths and weakness. Each owner / user has to choose which are both important and possible using what they have, (existing hardware or money).

MichielG

Cadet
Thanks for the quick reply.
I accidentally made a mistake when summing up my hard drives. I have 2x 2tb, 2x 4tb and 1x 3tb. Is with that config something possible with some more usable space?
Also if I would configure these multiple vdevs, Is it then possible to make one big storage volume where I can put all my file in one spot?

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Thanks for the quick reply.
I accidentally made a mistake when summing up my hard drives. I have 2x 2tb, 2x 4tb and 1x 3tb. Is with that config something possible with some more usable space?
Also if I would configure these multiple vdevs, Is it then possible to make one big storage volume where I can put all my file in one spot?