Moving from Jails to IOCAGE

Status
Not open for further replies.

geopfarth

Explorer
After I upgraded my FN server to 11.1 over the weekend I thought I might migrate my PMC server to an IOCAGE installation. Pentaflake offers a very detailed resource (thank you very much for that) but as I am still learning how all this works, I do have a few questions:

Creation of the IOCAGE applications seems to only be available on the "root?" command console (is that the right thing to call it?) and not on a Jail that is spun up. Is this the case or is there something I am missing? I read the config guide for 11.1, but I am not sure I totally understood it.

I followed the steps in Pentaflake's resource guide until I got to this line:

iocage fstab -a plex /mnt/tank1/apps/plex /config nullfs rw 0 0
which I rewrote to match my settings:
iocage fstab -a plex /mnt/tank/apps/plex /config nullfs rw 0 0

But it puked on me saying that the destination folder did not exist.

My question is, is this line for creating the application folder for the IOCAGE, and is it like the application folder of the Jails that are created from the jail GUI? If so, how do I modify this correctly to drop the application onto the /mnt/jail/[IOCAGE}/plex-media-server (or whatever I call it) so it resides on the SSD that I installed for this purpose? I tried a couple of times to change the mount location but I always got an error. The next line:
iocage fstab -a plex /mnt/tank/media /mnt/video nullfs ro 0 0
worked like a champ.

Finally, after creating the IOCAGE, where do I go in the GUI to monitor/manage it? It doesn't show up on the plugin, jail or VM page.

Thanks in advance for the help

Last edited by a moderator:

danb35

Hall of Famer

geopfarth

Explorer
I am still not getting very far with this. The iocage does not show up under Jails in the GUI, and I am getting errors every time I run these commands.

correct me if I'm wrong but this command:
creates the application folder for the Plex