Migrating to FreeNAS - Check my plan for me please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

averyfreeman

Contributor
Hi,

I'm not totally new to FreeNAS, as I've run a copy on an old Dell XPS 400 kind of as a test run. However, this was done with UFS as to the age and memory constraints of the system, so I am new to ZFS.

I currently have a system running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS with 4x 2TB WD Green hard drives (4K block size). Two of these drives are WD20EARS and two are WD20EARX, which I believe are all 64GB cache and 5900RPM. (Please correct me if I'm wrong). The reason for the mismatch is due to two of the drives failing in a standalone Mediasonic RAID-5 enclosure I used before I realized there was a difference between 512b and 4K drives (!). When I RMAed the drives I read up on them and realized I made a horrible mistake using them in a standalone enclosure that was unable to recognize the 4k block size. (Please excuse my previous ignorance - it was 2010, so it's been a while, but I'm sure there's still a lot more I need to learn before executing this build properly).

So anyway, the current build is:
Supermicro X9SCL-F-O
Intel Celeron G440 1.6Ghz 35w sandy bridge processor (will upgrade to an E3-1220L v2 when funds allow)
8GB Kingston ECC Unbuffered memory (two 4Gb KVR16E11/4 UDIMMs)
4x 2TB WD "green" 4k drives in RAID O+1 Ext4

My plan is to purchase:
2 more 2TB WD20EARXs
2 more 4GB Kingston ECC UDIMMs (however, KVR16E11S8/4 as opposed to KVR16E11/4)
Note: I plan on using the stock SATA2 controller with 6 ports on the motherboard

I was going to copy my data from the server to another computer with a 5TB drive over GbE, install the hardware, Install FreeNAS 9.3, set up a Raid Z2 array, then copy the data all back.

Does anyone see any issues with my setup or plan?

I guess my main concerns are the mismatches of the hardware - I tried to get as close to possible in matching my older hardware, but it just can't be purchased anymore.