SOLVED Laundry grows out of control

spoonman

Dabbler
Hi,

I am new to freenas and have a question about the 'laundry' growing and using ever greater amounts of RAM.

My Freenas Server Specs;

1x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2643 v3 @ 3.40GHz
128 GB RAM
FreeNAS-11.3-U2.1

Running;

1x Ubuntu 18.04 VM (2 vCPU and 16GB memory)
7x Jails (Jackett, Plex, QBtorrent, Sonarr, Radarr, Unifi Controller, Tautulli)

I noticed this morning that in the memory section of the dashboard, Services was using 98.1GB or RAM, when I drilled down it was the 'Laundry' that was using the space (Screenshots attached).

I had a look at Processes and didn't seem to be anything out of the ordinary there, also had a look at swap utilization and it wasn't swapping a whole lot either.

I restarted the Freenas server and the Services utilization went down to 5.4 GB.

What would cause Laundry to grow uncontrollably like this?

Attachments

• Freenas Memory Utilization.png
    Freenas Memory Utilization.png
    620.8 KB · Views: 330
  • Freenas Memory.jpg
    Freenas Memory.jpg
    46.2 KB · Views: 320

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Laundry

• Queue for managing dirty inactive pages, which must be cleaned ("laundered") before they can be reused
  • Managed by a separate thread, the laundry thread, instead of the page daemon
  • Laundry thread launders a small number of pages to balance the inactive and laundry queues
  • Frequency of laundering depends on:
    • How many clean pages the page daemon is freeing; more frees contributes to a higher frequency of laundering
    • The size of the laundry queue relative to the inactive queue; if the laundry queue is growing, we will launder more frequently
  • Pages are scanned by the laundry thread (starting from the head of the queue):
    • Pages which have been referenced are moved back to the active queue or the tail of the laundry queue
    • Dirty pages are laundered and then moved close to the head of the inactive queue