Memory issues with fine running FreeNAS machine. Help!

watoursw

Cadet
I've been running a freenas box for the past 12 months, but over the last 2 months, the system has been acting strange. It randomly stops responding, shuts down the plex plugin and has just been a nightmare. I've been researching the symptoms and all things hint to the swap memory usage being the culprit. Appreciate if the community can help debug this issue and point me in the right direction. Here are some key pieces of information:
  • I have 5 * 3 TB drives running in Raid-Z2 with 8GB RAM and the purpose of the box is solely to run 1-2 video streams on Plex
  • The issue of ad-hoc shutdown (server becoming unresponsive) started in March'19; the system had been running fine at that point for ~10 months
  • When I look at the logs, the problem always coincides with swap memory being fully used up
  • Doubling the RAM to 16 GB did not address the problem
  • In memory utilization chart below, the system used to have 10 GB of swap memory but it somehow seemed to have decreased to 5 GB
Appreciate any help!
freenas memory.PNG

D

dlavigne

What's the full output of ifconfig within code tags? Which FreeNAS version and Plex version? Anything in /var/log/messages around the time the issue occurs?

watoursw

Cadet
Thank you for the reply.
FreeNAS version is 11.2-U4.1 (i used to run an older version but upgraded recently to see if the upgrade fixes the issue but it hasn't helped so far)
Plex version is 1.10.1.4602

Here's the messages in /var/log/messages around the last time the problem happened
log.PNG

here's the ifconfig output
ipconfig 1.PNG

ipconfig 2.PNG

16GB is the bare minimum for FreeNAS only. If you are running virtual machines, you need more RAM. The output you posted confirms that with the "out of swap space" messages.

glauco

Guru
Have you discovered which processes are using so much RAM?
htop is perfect for this purpose. Launch it and sort processes by RAM usage.

watoursw

Cadet