Jails within volumes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sylekimmonds

Cadet
Hello everyone, I'm quite new to FreeNAS, and have had my box running for about a week now. I'm using an AFP share to run Time Machine for multiple Macs at home on a UFS (legacy) volume. I know, I should be using ZFS, but my hardware is super old, except the HDD.

Currently, I'm learning about using either SSH or OpenVPN to set up remote access, and subsequently learning about jails and user home directories.

My question is: Why are jails stored within volumes? Doesn't that take up space on the drive that I would want for backups? And if I decided not to use FreeNAS in place of manually connecting the HDD *shudder*, wouldn't the FreeNAS-specific information be stuck there unless I reformatted the drive? It seems like there should be a directory within my OS disk that allows for this sort of thing, in addition to home directories, custom configs, etc.

Thank you for being gentle with someone who wants to learn. I'm open to any resources that teach more on these subjects, as well.

krikboh

Patron
Because FreeNAS is designed to run off a usb thumb drive and the jails would require too much read/write for a thumb drive.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sylekimmonds

Cadet
@krikboh thank you for the answer. I forgot that about FreeNAS; I'm running it off a small HDD because my old BIOS doesn't support booting from a flash drive.

I would ask if it's possible to add jails and home directories somewhere other than a volume, but I understand that this forum isn't meant for making FreeNAS do things it wasn't meant to do. So, I'll leave it here. Thank you again!

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Also, I just want to point out, UFS is no longer going to be available in FreeNAS, starting with 9.3. It's ZFS boot, and ZFS filesystems for the pool. Period.

sylekimmonds

Cadet