How to access my SABnzbd remotely?

Mohkhasa

Cadet
Hello,

I am fairly new to TrueNAS, this is my first setup, I installed TrueNAS, Plex, SABnzbd,
and I simply want to access my SABnzbd page remotely:
(http://192.168.100.219:8090/sabnzbd/) -> ("address".dyndns.org)
I want to be able to request files to download remotely, been searching and reading all day,
but can't seem to find the best solution, should I use OpenVPN, change the jail DHCP/IPv4/IPv6 settings, or enable Dynamic DNS service,
or is there any other recommended solution? as you can see I am very lost on how to get this done.

Would appreciate it if someone could point me to the right direction.

Thank you in advance.

danb35

Hall of Famer
There are two major pieces that you'll need in order for this to work:
  • You'll need an address that will reliably reach your home Internet connection
  • You'll need a way for you, and only you (or others you authorize), to reach resources on your LAN.
For the first, assuming you don't have a static IP address at home like I do (nice, but expensive), you'll use some sort of Dynamic DNS service. This will associate mohkhasa.dyndns.org (or whatever) with your IP address, and when the IP changes, will update that record.

For the second, you have lots of options. The main ones are:
  • Run a VPN server
    • Popular options here include OpenVPN, Wireguard, and IPsec
    • ZeroTier and Tailscale are possibilities as well, and if you run them within the SAB jail, you probably don't need the dynamic DNS at all
  • Use a reverse proxy
    • Options here include Caddy, Traefik, HAProxy, and Nginx (particularly with Nginx Proxy Manager)
    • Ideally you'd have your reverse proxy handle authentication, maybe even with 2FA
  • Just forward a port to the SAB jail
    • You'd then want SABnzbd to speak HTTPS, so you'd need a certificate for it, and you'd also want to set a secure password for it