Freenas won't boot after resilvering usb boot drive.

Itsmittyhere

Cadet
I have two usb's mirrored for my boot drive. I kept getting a warning that one of the usb was degraded. I shut down Freenas and took it out and replaced it, then went into freenas and replaced it under the boot environment menu. After it resilvered I rebooted the Freenas to make sure it worked, and Freenas never loaded. Every time I reboot it freezes in random places while booting. I then took the degraded usb and booted from it and saved the config file to my pc.
So my question is, if I reinstall freenas onto the good usb drives and upload the config file, will everything work as far as my raid setup and my files will stay intact?
I'm still learning Freenas and right now I'm unsure how the config file works as far as restoring the settings. I have tens of thousands of photos I'm worried I'm going to screw it up worse and lose them.
Thanks.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
So my question is, if I reinstall freenas onto the good usb drives and upload the config file, will everything work as far as my raid setup and my files will stay intact?
That is how it is supposed to work. USB (as you are currently experiencing) is a poor choice for boot media. They are extremely unreliable.
I'm still learning Freenas and right now I'm unsure how the config file works as far as restoring the settings.
The config DB is a database of all the settings you configure through the FreeNAS GUI. If you have configured it, that configuration is saved in the DB. It is a good idea to make a backup of the database every time you make a change. I run a script that makes a weekly backup for me automatically.
If your boot media is completely gone, you can start with a fresh boot device, install FreeNAS, upload the config DB, which will cause the system to reboot, and all your settings should be back the way they were. This does not store any setting that you made from the command line, only settings made from the GUI.