FreeNAS not booting, need help troubleshooting / advice [noob]

Status
Not open for further replies.

bob2000

Cadet
I'm really a big noob, so if I'm missing pertinent info please let me know. I've been googling, and searching the forums, and I'm reluctant to start trying anything without discussing it first.

I think what happened is my USB boot drive failed.
I don't really know how to determine that actually is what happened.

Unfortunately, I dont have a backup config. In the forums I keep seeing people mentioning it. Am I in big trouble if I dont have it or will I still be able to import my drives to a new OS?

Does anyone have any reccomended steps I should follow to troubleshoot? Should I install a new version of FreeNAS on a new USB drive and see if that boots?

I was running FreeNAS 9.3, with raid z2

EDIT: I believe this thread is relevant:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/reinstall-without-config-file-backup-please-help.51500/

It looks like JeffNJ did a clean install of FreeNAS, and was able to get to his files, but had to reconfigure his server. I assume this is what I need to do. Is that correct? Are there any steps i should take to assure no data loss?

Last edited:

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Your drives are still OK as long as whatever caused you to stop booting hasn't also had an impact on them (physical damage to the machine or a power surge or something like that).

You may be able to recover your config database from the key if it's really important, but just installing a fresh copy and re-importing the volumes is the simplest if there is nothing special about your config.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I was running FreeNAS 9.3, with raid z2
An important point. If you were able to recover your config.db from the old boot media, you would need to re-install with 9.3 to import that db file.