FreeNAS Newb help picking hardware.

Status
Not open for further replies.

eddie200112

Contributor
Hi im new to the whole server and freeNAS arena and would love some advice before I start.
Originally I was thinking the hardware setup below, but after taking a look at the hardware forum I feel I may not have picked hardware up to snuff. Is this hardware good? or should I really go with a supermicro board.

Im ultimately looking for something to stream my home media to 2 HTPC's and if its even possible stream the media over the internet to my brother.

PS. im not rich but I value data integrity so the most affordable way to safeguard and share my data is preferred.

OK so what does everyone think of this setup for my freenas rig?

ASRock X99 Extreme3 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
($194)

Intel Xeon E5-2603 v3 Haswell 1.6GHz 6 x 256KB L2 Cache 15MB L3 Cache LGA 2011-3 85W Server Processor BX80644E52603V3
($219)
(Some told me this CPU would be too slow)

SAMSUNG 16GB 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM ECC Registered DDR4 2133 (PC4-17000) Server Memory Model M393A2G40DB0-CPB
($195) maybe two of these..

And then I currently have all my 8x 4TB HDD's
But I have to have them empty I assume before I can add them to the NAS so I will buy a couple new 4TB WD Black HDD's to start it out. And then I can just add a single drive at a time to it as I back up data right?
Thanks again!

danb35

Hall of Famer
The motherboard you've selected really isn't designed for server use, and doesn't appear to support ECC memory. Something like the SuperMicro X10SRL-F would be a better choice if you wanted a Socket 2011 system. The ASRock EPC612D8A-TB also appears to be suitable based on its specs, but I haven't seen that board used much (if at all) around here.