First build. Hardware and some FreeNAS questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cryodream

Cadet
Hello, freenas community,

A quick background: I am pretty new to the nas side of things. It has been a couple of years, that I wanted to build me a decent media file server. At first I looked at unraid, later on at flexraid. Both are one man operation, which was one of my biggest concerns all the time. Many people like them and recommend them, but I kept an eye on both over the last years and they never made me feel secure enough to pull the trigger. The second biggest concern for me was, that I didn't feel good about running 24 drive server with a single parity drive (which both of them do). I always felt that both of them had some positives, but mainly the negatives always out-weighted those. So all this time I waited and waited and simply ran a win7 machine with 20 drives in the Norco 4220 case. But finally I got tired of loosing drives and the data in them. I never tried flexraid, because I don't want snapshot protection and flexraid's real-time is still pretty much in beta. I tried unraid's trial with 3 drives, a couple of months ago - it went tits up after 3 weeks. I asked for help on the forums, but with no avail - so much for their reliability and ease of use.
I new about zfs before, but never considered it seriously as it seemed so much out of my league (I know nothing about linux - strictly windows guy). But a week ago I decided to read up on it. My journey led me here - to freenas.

I apologize if my questions seem silly or have been answered before. I read freenas manual from top to bottom, browsed the forums, googled until my eyes bled, but the more I read about some topics, the more complicated and confused things got. Sorry for my engrish too.

Software side: