First FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zmej

Cadet
Hi guys,

I'm planning to build my first home server running FreeNAS. Since I'm new at this I would like to get some other people's opinion before doing something stupid.
The use cases would be:
- Automatic backups from 2-4 PCs
- Media server(Plex, 1-2 streams max)
- Torrent server(with automatic download for my favorite series)
- I'm travelling a lot so a VPN server would also be useful(Is there any reason to run cloud server too?)

I wouldn't say that I'm on a budget and I have never bought any used electronics before, but this time I decided to go with used parts(HDDs will be new) and I would like it to be as low budget as possible because I will be probably replacing it in a few years(2 years max). At my home everything is Gb compatible(router, PCs, cables), so I would like to use this speed as much as I can.
I found a deal for a used i3-4130T+mobo+case+psu+8GB RAM for only 200$ and I would like to go with that. CPU seems to be good enough for 2 1080p streams and also has a low TDP. The ram is 1 stick so if needed I can easily upgrade if it is not enough. It will not be ECC because that would kill the budget. For my really important data I have backups on external drives, so a small risk of data loss is acceptable for me. For a boot drive I have an 500GB 2.5 HDD which was never used before. Any reason why not to use it as a boot drive?
Regarding storage at first I wanted to go with 3x2TB WD Reds in RAIDZ1, but maybe 2x4TB with mirroring would be a better option. Now I only need 4TB of useful space, but maybe in the future I will need more(one more reason for the 4TB drives).

Do you see any flaws with this build considering the use cases and that it needs to last only a year or 2?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
It will not be ECC because that would kill the budget.
The price delta between non-ECC and ECC is not so much. This is only because you are buying a package deal.