FreeNAS first Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashmanq

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to the world of Networked storage but have been looking into building a NAS for storing backups from a couple of PCs and as a (Plex) media server that is capable of transcoding 4k video to at least 1 tv at one time (at most 2 devices at the same time).

I am looking at using FreeNAS with the ZFS file storage system. I have read the FreeNAS manual and gone through the PowerPoint presentation explaining Zpools and vdevs.

From this I figure I need at least 8GB of ECC RAM or ideally 16GB. I also realise that I should use a server grade motherboard with an Intel NIC. Supermicro seems to be the motherboard of choice. I also think the HDDs should be WD reds which are designed for NAS use.

I have a Lian Li case PC-V351 case that I will use for the build. I also have a 32GB SSD that I will use to host the freeNAS OS. I'm looking at the following to build my server/NAS and wanted to check if I'm getting the right components or if I've over/underspec'd:

Ram: 2x 8GB Crucial DDR4-2400 CT7982469 = £100
Processor: Intel skylake Xeon E3-1260L v5 = £270.00
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SAE-M micro ATX = £200.00
PSU: 650W Corsair RM650X = £90.00
HDD: 2x WD Red 4TB drives* = £300
*Have the two HDDs as a mirrored Vdev in a Zpool giving me 4TB of HD space.

Do you think this will be capable of performing what I want? Am I using the best hard drive setup? I'll admit the different RAIDZ arrangements confuse me a little.

I am currently wiring my house for gigabit ethernet and plan to have the two tv's wired to the network. I also have three PCs on the network that will use the NAS/server to store backups and access files every so often. The main use will be as a media server.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Don't use a low power CPU like you have selected.

Other suggestions: I would get 16GB sticks of memory so you can max things out if you ever need to. Price will probably be about the same.

Nick2253