Hello and a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kameleon

Cadet
Hello all. I am new to FreeNAS and have a few questions. I am currently redoing my server arrangements in my home office and need some help on which route to go on the file server side. Here is my hardware:

Intel C2D 8400 (dual core 3.0Ghz)
6GB ram
8x 1TB sata 7200rpm drives (roughly 50/50 mix of Samsung and WD drives)
onboard single gigabit ethernet

That is what I have for my file server now. The motherboard has 6 sata ports onboard and I have 2 identical PCI-e 1x single sata port adapters for the other two. The addon cards are Silicon Images controllers so they are widely supported. I am wanting to setup the file server so that I can attach storage to my proxmox ve server for my virtual machines. Also it will be centralized storage for my media and such. With that iSCSI and NFS/CIFS will need to be supported. Eventually I would like to replace all the 1tb drives with 2tb or even 3tb drives, hopefully without having to redo the entire box.

Now for my dilemma. I am torn between FlexRAID and FreeNAS. I have used FlexRAID in windows before and like it (with a single parity drive). I like that it only powers up the drives that need to be powered up, can recover data off the drives separate from the FlexRAID server, can upgrade drives to bigger sizes easily, etc. However I really would like the de-duplication features and other "ZFS" stuff like thin provisioning in FreeNAS. However the way I read there is no easy way to upgrade storage in FreeNAS. Either route I go I would like to run it off of my 8GB CF card on IDE adapter so that it doesn't touch my available space on the storage drives.

In your opinion, which would be the best route for me to go, and why? Thanks in advance.

xbmcg

Explorer
well, as always, it depends on many things.