What kind of RAID to use/how to configure HDDs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Grovestand

Hi,

I'm very new to NAS and I'm not sure if this has been asked, but I could use some help with configuring my system for some sort of redundancy.

My situation is as follows:

I retreived my P4 2.8ghz computer (ASUS P4P800E Deluxe, 4 Sata ports, wow!).

I will probably try to upgrade to an Athalon at some point, but in the meantime I have set it up as a file server running FreeNAS. There may be a more elegant solution, and perhaps you guys can suggest it to me.

The reasons that I need a dedicated NAS as opposed to sharing files from my PC or running NAS software in a VM, are as follows:

Main PC has to multiboot OS X and Windows 7 (so it's not always on).
Server has to provide storage for Windows 7 and OS X PCs.
I would like to have some sort of parity protection.

OK, that said, my first attempt was to run Windows 7 on my main desktop with parity via FlexRAID and samba shares.

The drawback of that was that A) there is no support for AFP, so connecting to the server was a pain for my girlfriend. B) it wasn't persistent. C) Since I am running windows 7 ultimate there is no way to view multiple drives with one share point, meaning that you had to connect to each share individually.

So I tried leaving my main desktop in OS X all the time and sharing from there. That worked OK, but my hardware isn't 100% compatible and the instability and performance issues aren't worth it anymore. The only reason that I want to use OS X at all is because there is no Windows version of Logic Pro. It may be that at some point in the future I will switch to a Windows based DAW and this will no longer be an issue, but as of now I need to boot into OS X from time to time.