ECC Ram

Status
Not open for further replies.

Breeze

Cadet
I am new to FreeNas after building my new server and researching available NAS downloads I installed Free Nas. Have 4 3XTB drives but have been told now that i should have error checking Ram ? I have 8 gigs of DDR3 Ram . I have set a Z1 Raid but am concerned now that i will have issues with ram and could loose everything Is this true ? Should I change to UFS.

nojohnny101

Wizard
@Breeze welcome to FreeNAS! I am fairly new to these forums as well but just a word of advice: there are a lot of helpful people on here (@jgreco being on of them) but help will only be offered when proper research is done. The question you are asking has been "beaten to death" as jgreco said.

In short, not having ECC ram is not guaranteeing loss of data, it just greatly increases the risk. Most people rightly believe it is smart not to take that risk, myself included.

Mlovelace

Guru
I'll give you a quote from Matthew Ahrens, one of the cofounders of ZFS at Sun Microsystems and current ZFS developer at Delphix, and let you decide.

"There's nothing special about ZFS that requires/encourages the use of ECC RAM more so than any other filesystem. If you use UFS, EXT, NTFS, btrfs, etc without ECC RAM, you are just as much at risk as if you used ZFS without ECC RAM. Actually, ZFS can mitigate this risk to some degree if you enable the unsupported ZFS_DEBUG_MODIFY flag (zfs_flags=0x10). This will checksum the data while at rest in memory, and verify it before writing to disk, thus reducing the window of vulnerability from a memory error.

I would simply say: if you love your data, use ECC RAM. Additionally, use a filesystem that checksums your data, such as ZFS."

Breeze

Cadet
Thanks for Reply's