Dataset/Shares Setup Suggestions Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjpatera

Cadet
Hello everyone,
I am new to FreeNAS and have been playing with it for a few weeks now on a VM just getting familiar with it and getting things to work. I now have my permanent box setup and i'm ready to start with the final setup so I can start using it. I'm looking for suggestions or best practices on how I should setup the datasets and shares. Just a little about my setup and what I'd like to use the system for- I am running FreeNAS from USB with 2 2TB drives that will be mirrored. This NAS will only be for system backups and to archive family photos/videos. I won't be doing any media servers or anything like that. Most of my use will be on Macs but I do have a 2 Windows PC that will also use the NAS occasionally. I would like to send Time Machine backups to the NAS. I would like to have one share that will be accessible from both the Windows and Macs using the same user login if possible. I will have another share for the time machine backups which will be 2 different Macs.

Should I create one dataset for the main share and one more for the 2 Time Machine backups? Would it be ok to have both Macs backing up to the same AFP share in separate folders or should they both have their own shares? For the share that will be used by both Windows and Mac, is the SMB share the only/best one to use?

Thanks in advance.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Just a suggestion, you probably want to have more storage because this will give you only about 1.6 TB usable storage.
You can get some good advise on what hardware to buy if you ask, but it sounds like you have already skipped that and built a system.
I did that with my first NAS and made a bunch of mistakes that almost lost me my data, so I had to go get replacement hardware before a year was out.

melloa

Wizard