Cannot delete files from jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwall

Dabbler
I'm running FreeNAS v8.3.1 with Transmission and recently I've not been able to delete files that were downloaded with Transmission to the share I've setup for it. When I try get a Windows message that says "You need permission to perform this action. You require permission from Unix User\40001 to make changes to this folder..."

I did change the password for the admin user recently, I can't say for sure if this is when the problem started or not though.

I'm new to FreeBSD so I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this so any ideas would be appreciated.

D

dlavigne

It's a permissions issue on the share. Make sure that the user has write permission on the parent folder.

jwall

Dabbler
I think this is a problem with Transmission, I can modify everything else in this share and folder except the files that Transmission downloaded to the mount point. I also have a problem with Transmission where I cannot remove the prompt for authentication when connecting to the web interface., no matter what I set the setting to using the web interface I'm always prompted for the password that I set a while ago.

I'm going to update my server to v9 anyway, will these Transmission problems just carry over or would that help in this case?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
If you upgrade to FreeNAS 9 you will have to recreate all of the jails from scratch. FreeNAS 8 jails aren't compatible with FreeNAS 9.

jwall

Dabbler
Ok, so if I do the upgrade from the web interface will the jails and data in them be deleted for me and then I just need to reinstall Transmission? Or will the 3GB of data I have in the mount point be orphaned, how do I delete it?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
the jails and data won't be deleted, but you will have to delete them before you can create new jails. Unless you want to hack the database after the fact the best way to handle the upgrade from 8.x to 9.x is to: