can not increase size of zvol after expanding pool

AndrewBartko

Cadet
First all, I am extremely new to FreeNAS and I am learning this system in a live environment as I go along. I have read up on some of the basics, but I am running into an issue that I can't quite understand.

Here is a bit of information about our environment:
Version:
FreeNAS-11.2-U5
Physical Memory:
8124 MiB
Model:
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3240 CPU @ 3.40GHz

Currently, our SAN has 37 disks attached. 35 of these are meant for creating our storage pool. We are bundling these disks together 5 at a time and configuring them into a RaidZ1 setup. We should end up with 7 vdevs to make up our ZFS pool. We would like to start off with only 2 vdevs to start. The Pool is then going to to be used to store a zvol which will be attached to our server via iSCSI.

I wanted to take the setup one step at a time to make sure I understood how we would extend our pool/zvol in the future. To replicate this, I created a new pool with just one of the vdevs (5 - 6TB disks with RaidZ1). Everything looked good to start. Our pool was created and saw that we had a dataset with 21.09 TiB available. I then proceeded in creating the zvol, keeping in mind to only utilize 80% of the total size. (21.09 * 0.8 = 16.87 TiB).

I created the zvol and set the size to be 16.87 with no issues. Our dataset showed 16.94 TiB Used and 4.15 TiB available (this seems like 80% of the pool that will be available to us for storage, and the 20% that is recommended to keep available). When looking at the vzol, I see that we had a volume with 16.94 TiB Used and 21.09 TiB available. Everything looked great, until the next step.