Cadet
ASUSTOR AS6204T
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014MRVRWG
with
Patriot 1.35V 8GB DDR3 1600MHz - Upgrade
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009WIW9GE

I'm running 4 Seagate 3TB IronWolf
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LOOJBRI

I looked at the baked in package for the Asustor, and while I like ASUS, I wanted to be confident in my own data and my own server. Call me a privacy nut, but I just wanted to keep it all something I built. So I went looking and landed on FreeNAS. It loads and works, but this is my first attempt and I wanted to make sure some veterans didn't see HUGE problems with what I'm doing.

Background
I was originally going to run a CCTV server on there and use it to store the video, but I'm worried about performance in the future (specifically as I get the drives filled up with video) and I'm not able to do much processing over the video. I was running Shinobi in an iocage. While that worked, I'm looking for more options coming up, which i think will require a video card, so i'm moving to ZoneMinder (ZM) on another box I'm dedicating to that.

Thoughts and Issues
That leads me back to my NAS. I now have FreeNAS giving me ZFS (which i'm debating if it's the best option for me or just the hotness in my mind), with very little else going on. I have a huge part of the zpool that will be going to CCTV storage, but I'm also looking to setup the NextCloud plugin and allow the family to have their own private boxes, i'm assuming that won't take much power or memory and i'm 100% sure they won't be sucking up much space on the drives, so I'm safe there too.

Struggles
So some of this is me second guessing myself. The other has been the difficulties I've had using the system the way I want.