Access Denied on 'Large' files?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canezar

Cadet
Hello there,

I have absolutly no experience with FreeNAS but have access to the admin console and can ssh into the machine with root access, while I am primarily a Windows admin I have some Linux experience and can get around in CLI. The FreeNAS was configured before I was hired and the usual employee who handles it is not available.

We have a CIFS share where users are expected to be able to drop image files into to use as a shared resource, but I've been informed that it has never worked correctly and needs to be fixed. This is what I know so far:

The user has access to the share and subfolders.
Inside these locations, they can create or upload ordinary .txt files without any visible constraints.
They were able to upload a .jpg file that was only 28KB.
When trying to upload larger files, they get hit with Access Denied.
This is true even if we try removing or changing the file extension.
Other users without access restrictions (like root) have no problems uploading files.
When looking at the permissions from a windows machine, the user in question has access through their default group.

Is there some sort of file size limit imposed on the denied user? If so, where should I be looking if I wanted to remove it. Is there any additional information I can try to provide?

Thanks for your time. : )

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hello there,

I have absolutly no experience with FreeNAS but have access to the admin console and can ssh into the machine with root access, while I am primarily a Windows admin I have some Linux experience and can get around in CLI. The FreeNAS was configured before I was hired and the usual employee who handles it is not available.

We have a CIFS share where users are expected to be able to drop image files into to use as a shared resource, but I've been informed that it has never worked correctly and needs to be fixed. This is what I know so far: