Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

9.3 to 11.2

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#1
Is there a way to upgrade from 9.3 to 11.2?
I had 11.2 installed but it broke my jails (I couldn't create a jail for Plex). So I rolled back to 9.3 and now NONE of my files are accessible and the Update button doesn't work (it doesn't show any updates).

I REALLY need to access my data, any help is appreciated.
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#2
I REALLY need to access my data, any help is appreciated.
What does an upgrade have to do with accessing your data?

First, upgrade from 9.3 to 9.10 because that changes the underlying version of BSD:
https://archive.freenas.org/9.10/STABLE/9.10.2-U6/

After that, upgrade from 9.10 to 11.1 because that does another upgrade to the underlying version of BSD:
https://download.freenas.org/11/11.1-U7/

After that, I don't recommend it, but if you want to...
Then, you can go to 11.2, which does yet another upgrade to the underlying version of BSD:
https://download.freenas.org/11.2/STABLE/U5/
 
Last edited:

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#3
I can't access my data at all. The old link to my folders doesn't work (i.e. \freenass\main\website). Am I typing in the wrong info? And the user interface doesn't allow ANY updates. Can I update via shell?
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#4

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#5
11.2 didn't work after I upgraded so I tried to rollback to 11.1 but I kept getting error messages so I was dumb enough to rollback to 9.3 and now 9.3 doesn't work.
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#6
Upgrading FreeNAS and upgrading the storage pool is two separate steps. Did you upgrade the pool?
after I upgraded so I tried to rollback to 11.1 but I kept getting error messages
What didn't work about 11.1? What were the error messages?
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#7
The jails stopped working and it told me upgrade too a newer version.
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#8

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#9

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#10
Ok, but how do I upgrade when the u.i. doesn't see any updates?
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#11

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#12
I tried that and there's only boot to 9.3.
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#13
I tried that and there's only boot to 9.3.
How did you get from 11.2 to 9.3? Did you re-install using the old media, it may have erased you boot pool destroying all your old boot environments and the system config along with it.
Did you go through the configuration wizard and establish a new pool also?
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#14
Did you re-install using the old media
No, I just selected an older boot from the boot menu. I will try again when I get home tonight. Thank you for the response.

I do have 11 config saved. But when I tried to load it, it says it is too new of a version to install.
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#15

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#16

danb35

FreeNAS Wizard
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
10,341
Thanks
3,644
#17
Then you will need to go back to FreeNAS 11.2-U2.1 and make it work.
No, you won't. 11.1 will work perfectly well on a pool that's been upgraded by 11.2.
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#18
You should be able to select the boot environment to use on next boot and reboot the system.
It doesn't give the option to boot other versions.
 

Chris Moore

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2015
Messages
9,350
Thanks
2,984
#19
So, you don't have any other boot environments listed in this screen:

1551634965956.png
 

BamBamm

FreeNAS Experienced
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
205
Thanks
7
#20
Can I pull my RAID HDDs out and reinstall 11.1 on the DOM, then relink the pools to my data?
 
Top