2 Computers, 1 NAS - How?!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys,

i am completely new to this system, but i have read some pages of the manual.
I am planning to build a NAS, based on the Asus E35M-I with 3 2TB harddisks.
At the moment, i have understood how to install it- but...

I want a NAS to store data from 2 Computers (1 Notebook, 1 Desktop Computer- both Win7).
If i am in the university i want to write sth. and store it on the SSD in my Laptop (no connection to my freenas at home). Afterwards at home i want to edit the file with my desktop computer. The laptop will be now in the same network as my computer.

Is this possible? Will Freenas make this link between my two systems?
In the manual i have found sth. like: Shadow Copy or Samba- is that's the snag?!

Sorry for this (perhaps silly) question, but i can't imagine how this link will be made between the NAS and my two computers...
Even how this will func. with only one computer, i have no idea. Will Freenas check all the time the HD in my Computer and takes all changed-files?
If someone can enlighten me, that would be great :smile:

thx,

Hobbit_mit_Streitaxt

cyberjock

Inactive Account
So.. it sounds like you have data on your server and you want to have access to it on your laptop. You'll update it on your laptop while not at home, but when you get home you want the files to update on the server, right?

If this is what you want, you have 2 options.

1. Copy the updated files back and forth manually to and from the laptop. Likely keep 2 copies of the applicable data. One on your laptop and one on your server. You could use an xcopy script on the windows 7 machine to always update files based on date modified.
2. Use a service like Google Drive or Dropbox. Your data is kept in the cloud and automatically synced with the cloud when your computer connects to the internet the next time.

jgreco

Resident Grinch