ZPool & VDev config questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

freenasrast

Dabbler
Consider:

Option 1
--------
ZPOOL[VDEV0(10 x 3TB ZFS+RAIDZ2)] = 24GB of usable storage requiring 30GB RAM since it's 1GB of RAM for each TB [10 x 3TB = 30TB]

Option 2
--------
ZPOOL[VDEV0(6 x 3TB ZFS+RAIDZ2) + VDEV1(6 x 3TB ZFS+RAIDZ2)] = 24 GB of usuable storage requiring 36 GB RAM since its 1GB RAM for each TB [2 x (6 x 3TB) = 36TB]

Q1/
Why would option 2 need that extra 6GB to produce the same amount of usable storage as option 1. Am I doing the math incorrectly?

Q2/
Option 2 somehow feels like the best way to go, but I am no expert. Which of the two options is the preferred option.

Thanks!

paleoN

Wizard
Why would option 2 need that extra 6GB to produce the same amount of usable storage as option 1. Am I doing the math incorrectly?
Try subtracting the parity first. There is some ambiguity about this, but that's the conclusion I reached when I had thought about it some time ago. I haven't encountered anything sufficient to change my mind so far. Of course depending on the use case you can get away with less at the possible cost of some performance.

Option 2 somehow feels like the best way to go, but I am no expert.
+1

freenasrast

Dabbler
Try subtracting the parity first. There is some ambiguity about this, but that's the conclusion I reached when I had thought about it some time ago.

It's what makes common sense to me too, only what gave me pause is the documentation I seem to happen upon on the topic always lumps in both the usable space and the parity when calculating the RAM needed.

cyberjock

Inactive Account