YAN (Yet Another Noob) Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

okgunguy

Explorer
This will be, of sorts, a recorded experience of my build. From the perspective of someone who has zero IT experience. A little background of myself: I have build 3 computers over the years. All just web-surfers and general PC's. All with AMD products. I worked in the telecom industry 5 years ago for 10+ years and worked quite a lot with UNIX. So although it is not unfamiliar, I am anything but proficient. I can muddle my way through setting up a wireless router, so that my family thinks I know what I am doing. But I can't even forward a port on them, so I have them completely fooled. I no longer work with anything IT/telecom related. I own and run a retail store now. Everything I have learned so far about FreeNAS and all related software has come from reading, googling, and these forums. And I have MUCH more to learn. I have no one that I can call and ask questions. So I am hoping to make some contacts here so that someone can maybe put this foreign language into English for me.
I probably should have asked before I did it. But I just placed my first order with NewEgg for the first portion of my NAS. It includes:

1x - SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O , uATX/1150/C222/LSI SAS 2308 6Gb/s (MBD-X10SL7-F-O)
1x - Xeon E3-1241 v3 , 3.5GHz (BX80646E31241V3)
2x - Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) , ECC/Unbuffered - Total 32GB (CT2KIT102472BD160B)
1x - Seasonic SSR-550RM 550W , 80+Gold/Part Modular (SSR-550RM)
1x - Fractal Design Define Mini , 6 HDD/SFF (Define Mini)
1x - StarTech USB Motherboard 4 Pin Header F/F (USBMBADAPT)
1x - Cougar 120mm PWM fan (CF-V12HPB)
3x - Kingston Micro 16GB USB 2.0 (DTMCK/16GB)
1x - ARCTIC MX-2 Carbon-Based Thermal Compound (MX-2R)

For the easy glaring items that someone will inevitably point out: