will my TV see FreeNAS dlna

Status
Not open for further replies.

farreach84

Cadet
Hi,

Apology in advance for creating duplicate thread (if I have indeed)

I just couldn't find the one that answers my question and if someone can point me to the thread that does I'd be delighted to accept the suggestion as well.

So, I'm trying to setup a freenas torrent/dlna machine with my old atom230 pc

current internet connection in my aprtment is as below

isp - (0)hub - (1) iptv setbox - (1-1) wireless router - (1-1-1) pc, (1-1-2) samsung tv, (1-1-n) wireless devices
(2) hub - (2-1) pc, (2-2) freenas​
(3) open port​
(4) open port​

I'm having a rather hard time configuring transmission on 2-2 as it's keep saying that port is closed on every possible setting I can think of and found on the internet(but then again I'm a total noob on network and freeBSD and so on) and will probably replace 2 to another wireless router as my room and another room that sits across mine is getting weak signal from 1-1 in living room.

How does transmission fit into this change?

I've tested 2-2 with 1-1 (actually physically relocating 2-2 from my room to living room so that it became something like 1-1-3) and transmission and dlna was working so I could watch videos on 1-1-2 using dlna.

Transmission also worked when I tried 1-1 in place of 2. (did not switch 1-1 and 2, just yanked the hell out of 1-1 and stuck in 2's place so wasn't able to test dlna that time)

Tested 2-2 on 2's place and still no luck (even reinstalling the plugin didn't work)

But my previous experience with using/mixing multiple routers and hubs in an office environment where I could not share folders among PCs has got me thinking that I might get transmission working but not dlna.

So will replacing 2 with new wireless router block my 1-1-2 from connecting to 2-2 via dlna?